Beverly Cleary’s 95th Birthday

In honour of Beverly Cleary, who was born on this day in 1916. I loved her books growing up because the characters in them felt so real- as if I could walk down my street or go to the park and run into Ramona, Henry or Beezus. My favourite character was Ralph, I loved picturing this tiny mouse riding on his little motorcycle and getting into all sorts of mischief.

Beverly Cleary’s books are still quite popular, and I hope they will continue to be read by children everywhere for many years to come. I’ve noticed that many books from my childhood are quite hard to find but you can still find Runaway Ralph or Beezus and Ramona at your local bookstore, and Beezus and Ramona was even turned into a movie recently (although the title was changed to Ramona and Beezus).

Happy 95th Birthday Beverly Cleary!

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Books into movies, Children's books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

