Kathryn Stockett’s 60 Rejections

I just finished reading an article on Kathryn Stockett, the author of the bestseller The Help. I was absolutely astonished to find out that her book had been rejected 60 times before an agent took her on and sold the novel to Amy Einhorn Books. Not a spelling mistake- sixty rejections.

I absolutely loved The Help. It’s one of those novels that I just get sucked into. While you’re reading it you feel like you are really there,  you feel like you know the characters intimately. It’s the type of book that you can recommend to your non-reader friends- and they will actually read (or listen to the audio book version) and enjoy it.

I can not imagine anyone in their right mind reading it and saying “No. This is not a book that people will like, this is not a book that will sell well.” The Help is now sold in hardcover and paperback, as well as audio books and has also been made into a movie that came into theatres last week.  I CAN  imagine 60 publishers kicking themselves over that mistake.

Kathryn Stockett's The Help

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Authors, Book News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

