Review of Delirium by Lauren Oliver

novel by Lauren Oliver

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Finally finished Delirium by Lauren Oliver. O.K, I finished it days ago but I’ve been too lazy to write a review for it. I had heard a lot of hype, praise and good reviews for both Delirium and Before I Fall, both by Lauren Oliver. I hadn’t enjoyed Before I Fall as much as I thought I was going to but I really enjoyed Lauren Oliver’s writing style so I decided to give Delirium a chance. I’m really glad I did, the book is amazing!

Delirium is set in a dystopian future where everyone undergoes surgery when they hit 18 to cure themselves of ‘amor deliria nervosa”, basically love. After you undergo the surgery you’re different, better, and you’re evaluated and  get paired with someone who is a good match for you. It’s very creepy- people still get married and have children together but they don’t love each other. Makes my skin crawl.

Delirium focuses on the main character, Lena, and on what happens when Lena finds out that the way things are may not be her only option. I don’t want to go too much into the plot because I don’t want to give too much away. This book has so many twists and turns and it’s much more fun to discover that on your own.

Lauren Oliver’s writing in this book was wonderful- she writes in a way that makes you really feel you’re right there with the characters. I really liked how each chapter began with a little bit of propaganda that Lena and her friends and family would have been subjected to all of the time- quotes from their money, children’s stories, textbooks, pamphlets from the government, the Book of Shh. It really showed what the society is like and helped you to understand how they could all follow along with what the government told them to do even though it’s well outside the experiences that we’re used to. Those little details made the book even better. Some of the chapters headings used a website. I actually checked to see if it was a real site but unfortunately not. It would have been really cool for the link given to have gone to a page for the government in Delirium, or even linking to Lauren Oliver’s website but oh well. Maybe in the next book 😉

Delirium reminded me a bit of Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. In both books all citizens receive a government mandated surgery to improve themselves at a certain age, and both have groups of underground resistance fighting against being forced to change who they are.

Overall I would give Delirium a 10 out of 10. If you like dystopian YA fiction I’d recommend checking out this book.

 

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Young Adult fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review of Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  1. Pingback: Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver | Lay off the books

    • I didn’t even realize that there was a second book until I had already finished the first. I feel like it could have been a stand alone book as well, but I’m really looking forward to the next one.

  2. Pingback: Delirium News! | Lay off the books

Leave a Reply

