Cloth Book of the Month Club

An amazing project is up on Kickstarter right now- a cloth book of the month club for kids! This project features handmade cloth books on a variety of topics such as science, nature and music with new designs in the works. You can purchase just one book or sign up for a 3, 6, 9 or 12 month subscription. How cool is that? Kids love to get fun surprises in the mail and this would be a perfect present for grandchildren, nieces and nephews or any other special child in your life.

Although the project was fully funded in an incredibly short amount of time- 3 days!- you can still donate. All money over the goal amount will be used to create new designs. What’s even better about this is that they are made by a fellow Etsy seller Victoria from exlibrishandmade

I contacted Victoria to ask her a few questions and she was kind of enough to allow me to include them here.

Could you give me a quick bio about yourself, anything you would want people to know about you?

My Kickstarter bio: Once an aspiring librarian, I have combined my love of books with my love of fabric and stitching to create cloth books, quilts and appliqued art for children and adults which I sell in my Etsy shop, Ex Libris Handmade. I live and work in downtown Albany, New York with my husband Skye and my two kids, Tigerlily and Lyric.

When did you first start sewing?

I come from a long line of very skilled needlecrafters and have always been surrounded by beautiful handmade things and women making them. Some of my earliest and fondest memories of childhood are stitching with my mother and grandmother. I was probably about 5 when I started with cross stitch and soon began making patchwork by hand with my great grandmother’s quilting scraps. I came to machine sewing later in life and am mostly self-taught in that realm.

What drove you to open an Etsy store?

From my Kickstarter video: I started Ex Libris Handmade on Etsy in 2008 with two kids at home as a way to fulfill my creative need and contribute to supporting my family. I have sold a variety of handmade items in my shop but by far the most popular of these are my cloth books.

What inspires you?

Trying new things! I always love to push myself to do things that at first seem impossible. 3″ appliqué replica of the Abbey Road cover? Sure, why not!

How did you come up with the idea for a cloth book of the month club?

The first time I heard about Spoonflower.com, a company that prints self-designed fabric, I knew I wanted to use it to create printed cloth books. When thinking about how I would go about it I decided it would make sense to release a new design each month. From there the Book of the Month subscription idea was the logical next step.

You can check out Victoria’s Etsy store exlibrishandmade here.

Thanks Victoria!

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Books as Art and Crafts, Children's books, Literary Gifts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

