Read a Book, Give a Book

I found this awesome literacy initiative from We Give Books, created by the penguin group and the Pearson Foundation. It’s a simple concept: read a book online and they donate a book to a child in need.

I read Goodnight iPad by Ann Droyd, a parody of the famous children’s book Goodnight Moon. Goodnight iPad is a funny read for kids ages 4-7, featuring a large family of very tech savvy rabbits and one older rabbit who is bothered by all the noise of the cellphones, t.v’s, laptops and video game systems while she’s trying to sleep. The project I chose to donate a book to was the Harlem Children’s Zone but there are other places to donate to- it was a hard choice so I just picked the charity with the fewest books already donated.

They have an impressive library of new and classic books for you to read online, including Goodnight Goon by Michael Rex, The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats, Madeline by Ludwig Bemelmans and Big Red Lollipop by Rukhsana Khan.

Head on over to We Give Books, pick your favourite book to read and donate a book to a child who needs some good books in their life. It won’t cost you a cent.

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Children's books, Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Read a Book, Give a Book

  1. Lila C says:

    I found your site and wanted to say thank you for this post! I was looking for the book “A Snowy Day” by Ezra Jack Keats to read to refresh my memory and I popped across your site. Thank you for sharing the site to We Give Books with us, and I have passed it on through my Facebook site and email! What a wonderful thing!
    Thank you again for your posting! I appreciate it!
    From an Early Childhood Educator 🙂
    Lila C.

Leave a Reply

