The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

I absolutely loved the Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. I’m a bit of a sucker for blogs and books where someone commits to doing a certain task for a year (the woman who fanatically followed Oprah’s advice for a year? Crazy but awesome) In the Happiness Project Gretchen Rubin spends a year finding happiness and records the results. She focused on a different aspect of her life each month ( January was Boost Energy, February was Remember Love, etc) and made the last month a “boot camp” where she followed every goal from the previous months.

Honestly, just reading the book was a bit exhausting. I can not imagine doing what she did (the studying, the classes, acting on all the advice she was following, the constant improvements in every area of her life) and not falling into a month long coma at the end of the project. As is said in the book however, everyone’s happiness project will look different so if I was to create my own project it might look a bit more low key than Rubin’s. (Maybe I should re-read the Boost Energy chapter…)

This isn’t your typical self help book- it flows like a novel so it’s fun and interesting to read and Rubin manages to impart a lot of lessons learned without sounding preachy or full of herself.

I’ve found myself thinking this book over since I read it. One of the things mentioned in the book is spending forward, not hoarding new stuff while you use the broken, worn out stuff. I have adorable tape with brightly coloured animals all over it. It was a random purchase made a couple of years ago and I love the tape- the bright colours and silly animals bring a smile to my face whenever I see it. And yet it lives in the drawer while I use boring clear tape for everything. After reading the Happiness Project I remembered the tape, and the next time I needed tape I chose the happy animal tape instead of the clear tape. Such a small thing but it made me smile

Not everything in this book will matter or make sense to everyone but there’s such a broad range of information and advice in this book that there’s something for everyone. Even if you’re not planning on creating your own Happiness Project this book is still an enjoyable and worthwhile read. 5/5.

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

