New Photos from the Hunger Games Movie: What’s with the Hype?

Lionsgate has released a new photo from The Hunger Games movie:

The Hunger Games movie stillMovie Web has a gallery of photos from The Hunger Games, and I’m sure that everyone has already seen the teaser trailer and the official trailer. There’s also the Taylor Swift song that was made for the movie and various scenes already online. Honestly, there’s so much content from the movie already out that I feel like I’ve seen most of the movie, and so far I’m not liking what I see.

I loved the first two books in The Hunger Games trilogy (hated the last one) but I’m just not understanding the hype for the movie. They don’t seem to have captured the essence of the books either with their casting choices or the plot. I also have to wonder why they are pushing out so much content in advance of the movie- they seem to be desperate to create hype. I know that fans of The Hunger Games will probably be lining up to see it on opening weekend but what about other people? Hopefully the movie will turn out to be better than the hype.

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Books into movies, Movie Monday, Young Adult fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Photos from the Hunger Games Movie: What’s with the Hype?

  1. I think a lot of the hype the film is getting is centered around fans, because people are always asking me what the Hunger Games is about. The company is so focused on promoting the film that they aren’t really telling people what it is about (maybe it’s intentional ?).

    I also think they are trying to “ease” fans into the film, so we won’t be shocked when something looks a certain way.

    With that said all this hype reminds me of Twilight. I mean I seriously felt like I’ve seen the Breaking Dawn movie with all the stuff they released before it came out

    • They do seem to be trying to ease fans in, which I guess makes sense. I’m picturing an audience of fans standing up at the start of the movie, screaming “But that’s not how I pictured Katniss!”

      I haven’t seen Breaking Dawn yet but I feel as if I already have 🙂

  2. Pingback: Movie Monday- Why I Won’t Be Watching The Descendants | Lay off the books

Leave a Reply

