Movie Monday: It’s Kind of a Funny Story

Welcome to Movie Monday. This week I read It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini after watching the movie. It’s Kind of a Funny Story  is a Young Adult novel about a 15 year old boy named Craig who, after getting into Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional High School, becomes more and more depressed to the point where he is considering suicide. After a particularly bad night he calls the suicide hotline and ends up being checked in to the adult psychiatric wing of the hospital since the teen ward is undergoing renovations

This novel was funnier than I expected, considering the fact that it’s a story about a depressed kid in a mental hospital, although there are some serious bits in there as well. It’s a really thoughtful and honest look into depression and anxiety which makes sense as Vizzini wrote this book only days after completing his own 5 day stay in an adult psychiatric hospital. It was interesting for me to read a book written from the perspective of a male main character. I didn’t think about it until I read It’s Kind of a Funny Story but most of the books I read are written from the perspective of a female character.

The movie was sweeter than the book. I saw a review that said It’s Kind of a Funny story is like a sugar coated Girl, Interrupted and that sums it up pretty well. It was a cute movie, funnier than the book since they took out more of the serious parts of the book. The actors did a great job, Keir Gilchrist as Craig Gilner and Zack Galifianakis as Bobby in particular were hilarious (definitely check the special features  for the outtakes) The characters were a bit different than the book- Bobby, Humble and Johnny are in both the book and the movie but their characters aren’t exactly the same. Movie Bobby seems to be more like Humble from the book, he has a bigger role in the movie than in the book. Noelle in the movie is a lot different than Noelle in the book as well. In the movie she’s a little sweeter, in the book she’s more abrasive but we get more of her backstory.

I watched the movie version of It’s Kind of a Funny story before I read the movie and I still enjoyed it. I think that says a lot for the quality of the writing, generally when I watch the movie before reading the book that it is based on it ruins the book a little because I’m constantly comparing the two. The book and movie in this case were similar enough that the movie stayed pretty true to the book and kept the spirit of the book, but was strong enough to stand on it’s own as well. I give both the book and movie It’s Kind of a Funny Story 4.5/5.

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Movie Monday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

