Movie Monday: Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

I attempted to read Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert when it was first released. I didn’t make it very far because I was a little bored. The book wasn’t drawing me in and Gilbert’s writing style didn’t really make me want to keep reading to see if it got better later on. I ended up watching (and really enjoying) the movie of Eat, Pray, Love. Julia Roberts did a fantastic job, and I loved the different places that were shown. The cinematography was beautiful and I really felt like I was visiting these places as I watched the movie. I even craved pasta and gelato when Liz went to Italy!

I thought that since I had enjoyed the movie so much I would give the book another chance. It did get better as I got further into the book, and there were a few parts that I really liked but overall I didn’t like the book too much. Gilbert’s writing style feels very self congratulatory and gets boring. I also disliked the more spiritual parts of the book; it was a little too cheesy and wasn’t explained in a way that made it seem like more than a joke. I also felt that the book dragged on too much. I realize that the events of the book take place over a year, which is quite a bit to put in one short book, but I feel that a lot of the details added were not that interesting and took away from the book, making it feel more like a journal.

I usually really enjoy travel writing and biographies/auto-biographies so I was surprised that this book just didn’t resonate with me. Obviously since it became a bestseller, many people would disagree with me when I say this is a book that I wish I had skipped over. It’s o.k., but nothing fantastic. I would give Eat, Pray, Love the book a 2/5 and I would give the movie a 4.5/5- great acting, beautiful settings, and a good blend of serious and funny moments. The movie also did a good job of separating the wheat from the chaff- it took all the good bits of the book, left out the boring bits and tidied other events up so that they flowed better. Three cheers for artistic license!

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Books into movies, Movie Monday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

