Hamilton Reads Recap

I went to a great gritLit event last night called Hamilton Reads. There were 9 speakers who had 3 minutes each to discuss the book that they had read and to explain why that book should be the winning book. There was also a short debate period that turned out to be very funny. You can check out some photos from the event here.

I had never been to a gritLIT event before and I wasn’t quite sure what this event would be like. I had a pictured a more serious event but was pleasantly surprised to find that the event was very humourous and entertaining. The speakers were very engaging and had some great thoughts about each book.

I was really hoping that Natural Order by Brian Francis or They Fight Like Soldiers, They Die Like Children by Roméo Dallaire would win but Bedtime Story by Robert J. Weirsma ended up winning Hamilton Reads. I’m not sure if the audience really thought it sounded like the best book or if the very funny Trevor Cole won them over with his presentation, which included the use of many props and also involved him taking off his clothes. Don’t worry, he had pajamas underneath. I’ll have to check Bedtime Story out and review it.

GritLIT has many more events running until this Sunday, check out the schedule here.

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Book Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hamilton Reads Recap

  1. juliehgordon says:

    It was my first time to a gritlit event as well and I really enjoyed it. I was pleasantly surprised by the lightness and humour as well. It was nice seeing you there. I’m enjoying your book reviews; keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

