It’s Too Hot to Review Roundup

I’m sitting here staring at a stack of books I need to review, and a memory card of pictures from Doors Open Toronto that I need to upload but it’s so hot over here that I can’t concentrate for more than 5 minutes. 39 degrees Celsius with the humidity- what happened to Spring weather?!?

Reviews and pictures will come later. For today, here’s a roundup of various things I would like to share.

Small Medium at Large is a middle grade book by Joanne Levy that will be released on June 26th for Canadians and July 3rd for Americans. Here’s the blurb from the author’s site:

After she’s hit by lightning at a wedding, twelve-year-old Lilah Bloom develops a new talent: she can hear dead people. Among them, there’s her over-opinionated Bubby Dora; a prissy fashion designer; and an approval-seeking clown who livens up a séance. With Bubby Dora leading the way, these and other sweetly imperfect ghosts haunt Lilah through seventh grade, and help her face her one big fear: talking to—and possibly going to the seventh-grade dance with—her crush, Andrew Finkel.

 

Sounds like a fun read and I’m looking forward to picking up a copy when it’s released. In the meantime you can read an excerpt from Small Medium at Large here.

A guest post by Carolin Cooney over at Random Acts of Reading. I read The Face on the Milk Carton when I was younger but I wasn’t aware that there were more Janie books. I’m going to have to re-read The Face on the Milk Carton before starting in on Whatever Happened to Janie? and the rest of the books, including the upcoming Janie Face to Face.

50 Books Your Child Should Read Before Kindergarten. I would add the Balloon Tree by Phoebe Gilman to the list as well as Pumpkin Soup, A Pipkin of Pepper and Delicious! by Helen Cooper. What would you add to the list?

And last but not least, an Etsy treasury I created using summery finds made by my Treasury Island teammates.

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Book News, Etsy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

