My Five Faves of 2012 (So Far) – Day #2 of Armchair BEA

I found out about the Armchair BEA event a bit late (the day it started) so unfortunately I haven’t had time to pull together a giveaway, although I may do one sometime this summer. Instead I’ll be posting my top five books that I read in 2012 (regardless of what year they were published). In no particular order:

1. If I Stay by Gayle Forman: This book was absolutely haunting. It was a very touching book, the kind of book that makes you think about the bigger things in life. I really loved this book and gave it a 5/5. You can read my review of If I Stay here.

2. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver: This book is the sequel to Delirium, if you haven’t read either yet I suggest picking them up. Pandemonium is a great story that has a bit of everything- action, drama and a bit of romance. You can read my review of Pandemonium here.

3. Little Princes: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal by Conor Grennan: This book is non-fiction, and tells of the author’s experiences traveling in Nepal and working with kids in a children’s home. This story was absolutely amazing- part memoir, part travel book. Very emotional and strong story.

4. The Prince’s New Pet by Brian Anderson: This is my favourite children’s book that I have read so far in 2012. After the Prince’s mother dies when he is very young the King decides that there will be no colour whatsoever in the kingdom. The story was a modern fairytale and was very entertaining but what made this book absolutely fantastic (I almost typed fantabulous right there, although fantabulous sums up the story as well) was the illustrations. The majority of the book is done in black, white and grey with colour introduced later on. A gorgeous book.

5. Hyena in Petticoats by Willow Dawson. This book is a graphic novel that tells the story of Nellie McClung, a suffragette that fought hard to educate people and gain rights for women. I don’t read many graphic novels but this one really grabbed my attention.

There were so many other books I loved this year that it was hard to pick just five but I tried to give a variety of a few of the books I have read and loved this year.

What was your favourite book so far this year?

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Books, Children's books, Young Adult fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Five Faves of 2012 (So Far) – Day #2 of Armchair BEA

  1. LKD says:

    The Snow Child
    The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
    The Invisible Circus
    You and I
    and
    The Night Circus (even though I’m not finished yet!)

    Good question!

    Lorna

  2. Hyena in Petticoats by Willow Dawson even though it is a graphic novel sounds really interesting. The Suffragette movement was so full of stories of real women with so much gumption!

  3. Aneeqah says:

    I also really loved Pandemonium!! It had it all, I totally agree ith you. =) I’ve heard some fantastic things about If I Stay, and after seeing it on your top 5 book list, I definitely need to push it up on my TBR now! It sounds really great.

    Awesome list!!

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

  4. that’s quite a varied reading list! Looking interesting though!
    Chelle

  5. Anne says:

    I’ve read Delirium but have yet to get to Pandemonium. So many good books, so little time!

    Here’s my list!

  6. Bellezza says:

    I’ve heard such good things about little princes. I love it when grown ups, especially men, help the children.

  7. Christina says:

    I LOVED If I Stay/Where She Went & Pandemonium is on my list. I’ll have to check out the others. Thanks!

    I hope you have a great BEA-filled week!

    ~Christina (and the other Book Hookup Litbrarians)
    The Book Hookup’s Best of 2012

  8. If I Stay is amazing! Glad you enjoyed it!

  9. [-Leila-] says:

    I have wanted to read Delirium and in turn Pandemonium for a while. I think I have honestly owned Delirium since I started blogging a year ago but alas that massive TBR and it keeps hovering near the bottom. I suppose we all have books like that lol! Thanks for sharing!

    It was great seeing you around the twitter party tonight!
    Leila | The Fiction Pixie

  10. Stepping Out of the Page says:

    Those look like some great choices. I really need to start on Delirium, it sounds like a great series. Thanks for sharing your list!

    New to your blog!
    Stephanie @ Stepping Out of the Page

Leave a Reply

