Armchair BEA Day #3- Let’s Talk Networking

Design Credit to Nina from Nina Reads

Welcome to my post for Day #3 of the Armchair BEA- Let’s Talk Networking. I have never really networked directly through my blog, although I have met people locally who find out the name of my blog and then say “Oh, I’ve read you”. That’s always a nice moment!

Most of my experience networking comes from using Twitter, which I started using to share my reviews so in a round about way I guess my blog does help me to network.

My best experience in networking and meeting other book loving people happened through Twitter. A local woman who is a writer had posted an event on Kijiji (an online classified website) and shared the link on Twitter. I had been searching for my city’s name and found her Twitter account and event. The event was for something called a Lit Lunch- a way for people who enjoy reading and writing to get together to share food and talk. I was really nervous going the first time (I’m a little shy with people I don’t know) but I went anyways and had a great time. Through that group I also found an awesome local bookstore.

As for networking directly through my blog I’m really enjoying the Armchair BEA event. It’s nice to “meet” other book bloggers and join in the community.  Can’t wait to read the other networking posts!

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Armchair BEA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Armchair BEA Day #3- Let’s Talk Networking

  1. That event sounds perfect! I bet there will be more like it. Keep it up!

  2. Alley says:

    That Lit Lunch idea sounds fantastic! I’d be nervous to go to something like that if I didn’t know anyone so that’s great that you went for it and had a good time

  3. Violette says:

    Another way to find opportunities is by reviewing the sidebars of other book blogs. That’s how I got started. If there is an organizatuon for your genre, join it. As a mystery lover I have joined the Mystery Writers of America at the blogger level.

  4. Great post! I don’t often network offline, or even much beyond following and Twitter, but the few bookish events I’ve attended have been fun, and with Twitter, it’s easy to keep up with all the awesome people I’ve “met”

  5. It is so awesome that you found that event and were not to shy to go! I wish I could find something similar around here! I feel like most of my networking is on twitter too!

Leave a Reply

