Day #4 Armchair BEA- Beyond Your Blog

Design credit to Nina of Nina Reads

Magnetic chalkboard arrow.

Welcome to day #4 of the Amrchair BEA event! I’ve really enjoyed reading everyone’s posts and I also enjoyed attending the Twitter party. It’s wonderful to meet so many others who enjoy reading. Today’s post is “Beyond Your Blog” and I don’t have much to say about that so far so I’ll be writing on the alternative topic- an aspect of my life aside from the blog- my Etsy store Lay Off The Books.

Chalkboard oval sign for a photo booth,

I spend a lot of my free time making products for my Etsy store, taking photos of the products, editing photos, creating listings and promoting the store. For something that started out as a hobby it sure does take up a lot of my time! I enjoy doing it however so I don’t mind the amount of time spent on it.

I enjoy browsing the aisles of thrift stores, looking for items that I can make something new out of. That is how the idea of selling chalkboard blocks came about. I found a lot of worn out wooden blocks at Value Village and thought “hmm, how can I update these?” It’s a great feeling to be able to turn an usable item into something new and fun.

Fridge magnet made out of a puzzle piece, from a puzzle that had lost most of it’s pieces.

 

What’s keeping you busy?

 

 

 

 

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Armchair BEA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.