Recommend A…#3

Recommend A is a weekly meme hosted by shanyn at http://chickloveslit.com/

Today’s prompt for Recommend A… is “book that was published in 2010” and my recommendation is Matched.

Goodreads summary:

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

 

Matched is a great read for summer. It’s a fun and entertaining read that manages to make you think. I would call this book “dystopian light”- it’s set in a future society where all the choices are made for the citizens but there isn’t as much violence as some other books in the dystopian genre. I would definitely recommend picking up Matched if you haven’t read it yet.

 

 

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Recommend A and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Recommend A…#3

  1. Elisquared says:

    Matched is one of my “Finish this book already, Jesus” books for this summer! Great recommendation; I hope I love it!

  2. megan says:

    I enjoyed Matched, but have not had a chance to read Crossed. I have heard mixed reviews. Your thoughts?

  3. Ohh I read Matched for my book club last week and we all loved it! Good choice!!

  4. Adriana C says:

    I love dystopian novels but I haven´t read it , yet.
    thanks for sharing.
    Here is My Recommend A..

  5. aimee says:

    I loved Matched when I read it (and this post only reminds me how I still have to read Crossed…). It was also one of those books where the love triangle didn’t bother me (I was torn because I loved her relationship with Xander, but Ky is so adorable). I can’t wait to see where Ally Condie takes the story!

  6. Briana says:

    I’ve actually been calling it something like “dystopian light” in my head! Is this an actual phrase that I’ve read before and picked up?

    But I haven’t actually gotten around to Matched yet. I want to read it, but it’s just not high on my list when there are so many other dystopians to read.

  7. Yes, great recommendation! I need to read Crossed still – though I may have to flip through a copy of Matched to remember exactly what was going on first 🙂

    Thanks for participating this week!

  8. Matched has been on my TBR for a loonnngg while since I fell in love with the covers. But there’s just been SO many dystopians, it just kept being pushed further and further from my list.

    Thanks for your recommendation, and hopefully I will get to it this summer =).
    Lilian @ A Novel Toybox

  9. Emily says:

    Great recommendation-I really liked this book. I agree that it’s a lighter dystopian, which I was happy about. The dark, violent stuff isn’t really my thing.

Leave a Reply

