Recommend A…#4

Recommend A is a weekly meme hosted by shanyn at http://chickloveslit.com/

Today’s prompt for Recommend A… is “book that you read this year” and my recommendation is Cinder.

 Cinder is an updated version of Cinderella. It keeps some of the Cinderella story while giving it a futuristic, sci-fi twist. Cinder is a cyborg who lives with her superficial and shallow stepmother and her stepsisters, Pearl and Peony. She works as a mechanic to support the family as the stepmother is too lazy and full of herself to work. While at the market one day Cinder meets Prince Kai, part of the royal family of New Beijing.

I loved reading Cinder. This book has all the magic of a fairytale without being sickly sweet. The sci-fi aspect of added a lot of interest and changed the story enough that it reads as a whole new story instead of being a straight copy of Cinderella. So many books these days are based on stories that we have already heard, remakes and sequels and it can get a bit tiring. Marissa Meyer adds so much to this story that it ends up feeling fresh and new instead of a boring remake of a classic fairytale.

Cinder’s character was great, very well written. This is no weak willed Disney princess, Cinder is a strong and hard-working character with a good head on her shoulders. Even though she’s in a bad situation, you never really feel sorry for her because she doesn’t allow that. She’s not someone to be pitied; she is someone to be admired. She’s not a perfect character and I don’t want it to sound like I’m putting her on a pedestal but she’s a wonderful change from many of the female characters in YA books lately.

I would definitely recommend Cinder- 5/5

 

About layoffthebooks

I'm a reader who enjoys sharing my opinion on good books, bad books and book news. Throw in a few crafts and some random musings and you have my blog. Welcome!
This entry was posted in Recommend A and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recommend A…#4

  1. megan says:

    LOVE Cinder! Great recommendations!

  2. Briana says:

    I recently read this, and it was AMAZING! I was deeply skeptical before starting it. Cinder is a very strong and relateable character. I love how the book explores what it means to be human.

  3. I’ve read mixed reviews, but since I absolutely adore fairytale retellings and sci-fi, I think I’m going to give this one a try soon! Thank you so much for the recommendation and I hope I’ll love it as much as you did! *Crosses fingers*

    Lilian @ A Novel Toybox

Leave a Reply

